Today's Alert 2015

January 2015

Teachers' Day January 16

Adopted as Teachers' Day in Thailand by a resolution of the government on November 21, 1956. The first Teachers' Day was held in 1957.
January 16 marks the enactment of the Teachers Act, Buddhist Era 2488 (1945), which was published in the Government Gazette on January 16, 1945,
and came into force 60 days later. Most Thai schools close for the day to give their teachers a break during the long second term.
Many international schools do not, although they may hold celebrations to honour their teaching staff. There are very few public or official commemorations.

Find out if other countries celebrate Teachers' Day and which dates from this link.

This year Thailand initiates the International PRINCESS MAHA CHAKRI AWARD to honor Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn
for her dedication to support the teaching profession in Thailand.

    • Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn is widely known for her dedication to educational development. Her Royal Highness’s continuous efforts to provide opportunities for disadvantaged children and youth in remote areas, and to improve their occupations and quality of life by means of education, have been made over many years, generating benefits at national and international levels.

    • On the auspicious occasion of the 60th birthday anniversary of Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn in 2015, the Teachers’ Council of Thailand, under the Ministry of Education, deems it appropriate to request Her Royal Highness’s permission to establish an international award in honour of her admirable endeavours and also to grant it the name of “Princess Maha Chakri Award”.

  • Objectives
    • To honour Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn for her outstanding achievements in the field of education and in the development of the quality of life, especially for the disadvantaged;
    • To honour highly dedicated teachers whose accomplishments make significant contributions to education and human development and who deserve international recognition;
    • To support and promote development of the teaching profession as well as educational enhancement;
    • To strengthen international relations in the field of education.

  • Description of the Award
    • The “Princess Maha Chakri Award” is an international award for dedicated teachers whose outstanding achievements generate benefits to education and human development. One teacher from each of the eleven Southeast Asian countries, including Thailand, will be selected as an awardee.

  • Nomination Criteria
    • Initially, teachers from Thailand and other countries in Southeast Asia will be granted opportunities to be nominated for the Princess Maha Chakri Award. The nomination process will be conducted by the Ministry of Education in each country. Dedicated teachers, whose outstanding achievements have generated benefits to education and human development, will be entitled to be nominated

  • Selection of Awardees
    • The Ministry of Education in each of eleven Southeast Asian countries will be responsible for selecting candidates in accordance with the criteria for award nomination. Each country may nominate only one person.
    • Details regarding qualified persons, nomination and selection criteria, time frames and nomination processes will be determined by the Princess Maha Chakri Award Foundation Committee.
    • The final decision regarding selection of awardees of the Princess Maha Chakri Award will be made by the Princess Maha Chakri Award Foundation Committee.

  • Award Presentation
    • Awardees of the Princess Maha Chakri Award will be invited to a royal award presentation ceremony in Bangkok, Thailand;
    • The name list of awardees and brief descriptions of their work or innovations will be notified to their respective governments, the Royal Thai Government, private agencies and other relevant bodies in their respective countries. This information will also be publicized through all media channels;
    • Awardees from Southeast Asian countries will be invited to present their outstanding achievements and share their knowledge with fellow awardees for the benefit of the profession.