CGAB 501: Class Schedule

2183 days since CGAB 501 (06/09/2014)

JME

: John Essigmann

RS

: Ram Sasisekharan

UN

: Uma Narayanasami

MF

: Mayuree Fuangthong


Date/Time Topics Lecturer
Mon 09 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L1: Molecular Level: Central Dogma & Replication
-Central dogma and nucleic acid structure
-DNA Replication

MF


Wed 11 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L2: Molecular Level: Transcription
• Transcription machinery
• Transcription regulation

MF
Fri 13 Jun 2013
09:00 - 12:00

L3: Molecular Level: Translation
• Translation machinery
• Stages in translation

MF
Mon 16 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L4: Molecular Level: Spontaneous and Induced Mutations as Drivers of Evolution
• Introduction into Core Curriculum and CGAB501: The MIT perspective
• Research paper topic: Inflammation and Cancer
• Example: Hepatitis B and Aflatoxin (which will be covered in more detail later)

JME
13:00 - 16:00 Review 1 MF
Wed 18 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00



L5: Molecular Level: Spontaneous and Induced Mutations as Drivers of Evolution
• Spontaneous and induced mutations
• Mutator phenotype and cancer

JME


Fri 20 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L6: Molecular Level: MMR and Evolution
• Mismatch repair and fast forward evolution
• Drug resistance driven by fast evolution
• Paper analysis (Arkin; Loeb)

JME
Mon 23 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L7: Molecular Level: Cancer
• Six steps of malignant transformation
• How conventional anticancer drugs target molecular pathways
• Review of molecular pathways of growth and energy metabolism
• Recent advances showing that specific metabolic networks of cancer cells determine
susceptibility to anticancer agents

JME
13:00 - 16:00 Review 2 JME/MF/TA
Wed 25 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L8: Molecular Level: Cancer
• Metabolic networks of cancer and other growing cells
• Paper analysis (Ditsworth, Dawson)

JME
Fri 27 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L9: Cell Level: Innate Immunity 1
• Activation of innate immune system accelerates cancer development
• Chemistry of inflammation

JME
Mon 30 Jun 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L10: Cell Level: Innate Immunity 2
• Activation of innate immune system accelerates cancer development
• Chemistry of inflammation

JME
Tue 1 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00
Review 3 JME
Wed 2 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L11: Cell Level to Organ Level
• Aflatoxin carcinogenesis as a paradigm in which inflammation by an infectious agent (Hepatitis B)
accelerates cancer initiated by a chemical (Aflatoxin)

JME
Fri 4 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L12: Synergy and sensitivity modulation in biological networks

JME
Tue 15 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L13: How to Identify a Functional Biomarker: A Case Study Involving Aflatoxin B1 and HBV

SC
Mon 21 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

Exam I

Staff
Tue 22 Jul 2014
13:00 - 16:00

L14: Cells to Tissues
• Extracellular Matrix

RS
Wed 23 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L15: Cancer at the Clinical Level
• Hematology and Oncology

UN
Fri 25 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L16: Cancer at the Clinical Level

UN
Mon 28 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L17: Cancer at the Clinical Level

UN
Wed 30 Jul 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L18: Cancer at the Clinical Level

UN
Fri 01 Aug 2014
09:00 - 12:00

L19: Cancer at the Clinical Level

UN
Late Aug
09:00 - 12:00

Proposal Presentation I

Staff
Late Sep
09:00 - 12:00

Proposal Presentation II

Staff
Late Oct
13:00 - 16:00

Proposal Presentation III

Staff
Mon 18 Aug 2014
09:00 - 12:00

Exam II

Staff